RCCC Foundation adds four new board members – Salisbury Post


The RCCC Foundation adds four new members to the Board of Directors

Posted at 12:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 10, 2022

SALISBURY — Rowan-Cabarrus Community College has named four new members to the Foundation’s Board of Directors. Cathy Floyd, Chris Shoemaker, Haylee Shuping and Kristen Trexler will serve three-year terms with an option to be asked to serve an additional three-year term.


Floyd held faculty positions in family and community nursing at the Medical University of South Carolina, Texas Woman’s University, University of Memphis, and UNC-Charlotte prior to his retirement. She has served as chair of several nonprofit boards, including the Cabarrus Arts Council and the Cabarrus Conflict Resolution Center. Floyd lives in Concord with her husband, Locke.


Shoemaker has lived and been actively involved in Cabarrus County for the past 30 years and recently retired from cooperative Christian ministry as a business development and community engagement professional. She has served the community as a Rotarian of Cabarrus and a board member of numerous non-profit organizations in Cabarrus County supporting children, teens, the arts, and the most vulnerable. She was recognized as Cabarrus Chamber of Commerce Ambassador of the Year and City of Kannapolis Community Volunteer of the Year. She and her husband, Barry, enjoy participating in dragon boat races, hiking in the mountains and traveling abroad.


shupping, a Rowan County resident, is a small business owner and a member of the Cabarrus County Chamber of Commerce. She also serves on the Rowan County Juvenile Crime Prevention Council and serves on the North Carolina Police Survivor Concerns Chapter. Shuping is pursuing his MBA at Wake Forest University. Her late husband, Jason, graduated from Rowan-Cabarrus Community College’s Basic Law Enforcement Training Program, and she sponsored a scholarship to the College in his memory.


Trexler oversees community engagement for Novant Health Rowan Medical Center. She previously served as the Development Manager for the Novant Health Rowan Medical Center Foundation and helped develop the Wallace Cancer Institute’s $12 million fundraising campaign. Trexler is from Rowan County and resides in Salisbury. She graduated from East Rowan High School and North Carolina State University.

“Our goal is to welcome an inclusive and diverse group of people from Rowan and Cabarrus counties to serve on our board of directors, and we are fortunate to have these experienced community advocates,” said Dr. Carol S Spalding, Chairman of Rowan-Cabarrus. “Their perspective will help us manage a range of essential resources to meet the educational and institutional needs of the College.

The four new board members join current members Karen Alexander, Marjorie Benbow, Paige Crowe, Jeanne Dixon, Michael Fischer, Brian Hiatt, Barbi Jones, Barbara Mallett, Matt Millward, Robin Moore, Smita Quinn, PJ Ricks, Elaine Spalding and Mark Spitzer. Brian Hiatt is Chairman of the Board and Robin Moore is Vice Chairman.

The mission of the Rowan-Cabarrus Foundation is to raise and manage funds and enhance relationships that support the work and mission of Rowan-Cabarrus Community College. Resources include corporate investments, private grants, alumni and employee contributions, and financial and in-kind support from many other friends of the College.

For more information about the Rowan-Cabarrus Foundation, visit www.rccc.edu/foundation or contact Connie Rheinecker at [email protected] or 216-3485. For more information about Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, visit www.rccc.edu or call 704-216-RCCC (7222).



Comments are closed.